Makoto Yoshizawa

Makoto Yoshizawa
Tohoku University

Group of Electrical, Communication, Electronic, and Information (ECEI)

The origins of the group of electrical, communication, electronic, and information (ECEI) engineering are the Department of Electrical Engineering that was established 1919 and the Department of Electrical Communication and Electric Engineering that were established in 1941, and 1958, respectively. In response to numerous outstanding research activities, the three department have been reorganized to the ECEI group.

The ECEI group cooperates with the Graduate School of Information Sciences (GSIS) and the Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering (BME) and helps to maintain a number of divisions at the GSIS and BME, which also assist to deliver courses at undergraduate and graduate schools. The group also helps to maintain a number of laboratories in the Research Institute of Electrical Communication (RIEC), Center for Interdisciplinary Research (CIR), New Industry Creation Hatchery Center (NICHe) and Cyberscience Center (CSC), Tohoku University for education and research at the University.

The faculty members of the ECEI group are active in applied research and consultancy, as well as basic research.

The creative research activities of the faculty member generate an exciting and enjoyable education environment. In addition, the research activities are supported by graduate and research students and receive external funding from government agencies and industries. The group has also well-equipped attached facilities such as mini super clean room, distributed processing computer system for computer education and research with a large terminal room and computer room, experimental laboratory for students, machine/wood/glass workshop, etc…

The ECEI group holds an outstanding record and some individual achievements in the histories, such as the invention of the Yagi-Uda antenna by the former Professor of Electrical Engineering and world-famous scholar, Hidetsugu Yagi. The group, including the divisions in interdepartmental centers and the RIEC form one of the largest electronic and computer engineering complexes in the world, with over 60 distinct chairs.